15/06/2016   /   Posted by DigitalWaterCurtain

LUMIARTECNIA INTERNACIONAL Wins International CODAawards Merit Award

MADISON, WI, September 14, 2016 – In the worlds of art and design, successful collaboration is a significant achievement not often celebrated – until now. CODAworx, the hub of the commissioned art economy, has once again partnered with Interior Design magazine, to announce the winners of the fourth annual CODAawards: Collaboration of Design + Art. The CODAawards recognize collaborations that result in outstanding projects that successfully integrate commissioned art into interior, architectural, or public spaces.

Digital Water Wall at Hydropolis received Merit honors in the category of Institutional. The project was a collaboration of Lumiartecnia Internacional, ARTFM, Maksymilian Majoch, Karol Ornatowski and MPWiK. The project features a 47 m long Digital Water Curtain which displays greetings, stylish patterns and information about the exhibit, by writing them on its responsive waterfall. When the visitors get close to the entrance gates, the water section in front of the doors will automatically open to let them cross inside or outside without getting wet.

“The CODAawards recognize the importance of collaboration, and honor the design and art professionals whose collective imaginations create the public and private spaces that inspire us,” said Toni Sikes, CEO of CODAworx.

In its fourth year, the CODAawards received 407 entries from around the globe, representing over $81 million USD in commissions. Winning projects were found as far as Thailand to Puerto Rico, San Francisco to São Paulo. The winners exemplify the best of what can happen when artists and design professionals collaborate to create artful spaces in our built environment. Other winners included works that resulted from amazing team efforts, including the collaboration between world renowned artist James Turrell and Landmarks public art program, Gensler Architects and artist Patrick Marold, and art consultant Circa 1881 and artist Grimanesa Amorós.

An esteemed panel of 18 jurors from the design, architecture and art worlds judged the submissions. Jury members included Cindy Allen, Interior Design magazine editor-in-chief; Cheryl Durst, CEO of the International Interior Design Association; Caroline Baumann, director of the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum; Raymond Post, principal and founder of Post Architects; and Catherine Widgery, artist and 2015 CODAawards winner. The jury selected winners and merits in each of ten design categories.

The CODAawards are covered in the August 2016 issue of Interior Design magazine, on CODAworx.com, and through fourteen design + art partner organizations, reaching the largest, most qualified audience of design professionals.

Post share

facebook Share likedin Share pinterest Share